// I’m Not Dead // Bea Cassidy

Guess what?! I’m not dead. I have missed you all so much. I have kept up with you all via your blogs (I may not have commented, but I have “liked” and read your posts). I am sorry that I have kept you in the dark, you don’t deserve that. A quick warning: this post is not heavily edited or thought through, it is simply my ramblings and thought processes. I felt like that would enable this post to be one of the most authentic ones on the blog and kickstart Bea Cassidy REVAMPED.

I started my second-last year of high school at the beginning of 2016 and I was totally blind as to how much time it would take out of my life. I thought I knew what I was in for … I really didn’t. This year, I picked up my academic game, majorly due to the fact that I am in a pretty bloody good mental headspace. As a result, my grades have picked up and I am determined to work even harder to improve them further.Year 11 has been difficult, but rewarding and I feel that I have found myself. I know who I am, what I am and why I am the way I am. Regarding my body and fitness, we’re working on it, but we’ll get there.

For a while, I genuinely considered shutting BC down, because I had a lack of motivation for it. A few months ago, I started to write a beauty post, but I still hadn’t fully come to terms with the realisation that last year’s content cannot, and will not, be the same as this year’s content. I felt ashamed that BC would no longer primarily be a beauty-related blog and I was really upset by that. I held on to BC and have made the decision to keep BC.

I am going to take the blog in a new direction, the reason being that when I started BC at the beginning of 2015, I was a very different person to who I am now. I was quite unhappy and emotionally unstable and was not truly comfortable within myself. Now, I am genuinely happy (most of the time) and am coming to a relatively healthy relationship with myself in its entirety (both my physical and mental being). I know that if I keep putting up all of the same content as I put up last year, a) it will bore you guys to tears as it was primarily Favourites, No Buy Updates and Tags; and b) it won’t be true to who I am now. I know that as a creator (a blogger, a writer and a musician), when my heart is not truly in something, I feel disappointed and like I’m cheating myself, and more importantly, you guys! You, who tune in regularly, or every now and then. It’s not fair to be putting up content that I’m merely okay with – it’s an injustice to you all.

This year, I have thrown myself back into my music and have performed a few times (my next gig is with a friend at a local Open Mic night next week). I joined my school’s Guitar Orchestra and have remained in Senior Choir. Music has always been an incredible source of pleasure for me; I usually have it playing. And now, more often than it has been for a long time, the music is coming from the guitar and I!!

So, what shall I be writing about? I would love to go back to my roots and primarily write about music and books, with some fashion and beauty thrown in to mix it up occasionally. Three years ago, I had a website (it is still live), and it was all about talking about lesser-known soloists and bands. I even wrote a magazine to accompany it, and interviewed a few alternative Australian bands, including SIETTA and The Backsliders (Google them, you won’t be disappointed). After a while, my friend got in on the action and helped me to further develop the website. After about a year, our passion for it fizzled out. The important thing to remember is that I was PASSIONATE about what I was writing, it made me so happy and felt true to who I was, am, and always will be.

I would love to interview more authors and do book reviews (hopefully ones that are slightly more advanced than the ones I wrote in Year 3). I have branched out this year and have read a greater variety of texts. Drama, romance, comedy, non-fiction, memoirs … Yesterday, lovely Mum purchased The Anti Cool Girl by Rosie Waterland (hands up those of you who can relate) and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (isn’t that the most incredible name? (I’m referring to the author, by the way, but the title of the book is also clever). I am going to start The Anti Cool Girl tonight and will write a review on it, as well. I would also like to gain confidence in my own writing through sharing some of it with you guys. Ever since my mum patiently sat with me and we sounded out words some 12 odd years ago, I have been an writer (with varying levels of ability and dare I say it, talent). I would love to share that side of me with you all.

Of course, I still hold a special place in my heart for fashion and beauty. I keep up with people like Caryl and Stashy’s blogs (along with others). I have cut down on how often and how much I spend on beauty products. It was becoming quite an addiction, as of this time last year (hence the need for the No Buy Challenge). Of course, I still purchase makeup and clothes, but I (usually) research products before I buy them, rather than spending $100+ on a whim. (So that’s something, at least). There are so many beauty and fashion bloggers and YouTubers out there who discuss beauty and fashion with far more knowledge, passion and talent than I ever could, so I look up to those girls and guys. Every once in a while, there will be a beauty and / or fashion post up, however, when I do publish a beauty post, I would love to concentrate on discussing AFFORDABLE (often Australian) beauty products (which are often left to the wayside when it comes to talking about or owning high-end makeup).

Feel free to leave me ideas for blog posts below, I really appreciate your feedback.

I understand that some of you really enjoyed the abundant source of beauty posts, and I am sorry that they will be at least drastically minimised. I understand that because of that, some of you will unfollow and that’s okay. Thank you for sticking with me for a day, a week, a month or since the day the very first post on BC went live. You cannot fathom how grateful I am for all of your support, through bouts of minimal posts, periods of several posts a week and times of no posts whatsoever.

Equally, thank you to those who may, or definitely will, stick with me. Your continued support is absolutely wonderful and I hope that you will enjoy Bea Cassidy REVAMPED just as much – if not more – than BC.

As for a blogging “schedule”, I know that it is unrealistic to restrict myself or tire myself out. I am hoping to upload once a fortnight, but if not, then once a month. Whenever I have posted at least once a week, I have found that the quality of BC has greatly decreased and I quickly lost my passion for it. Just as bad is that I spent a lot less time studying and my grades reflected that. Some people do very well on a schedule, but I know now that it is just not for me.

As someone who is aspiring to study Media and Communications at university, hopefully starting in 2018, I know that I need to up the anti graphics-wise on Bea Cassidy REVAMPED. (Please leave me any tips you have below, as I struggle with visuals). I will definitely be redoing the logo and putting more effort into the banner / featured image at the top of every post. First appearances are very powerful – particularly for blogs and websites – and even the existence of a featured image can make or break a blog post. I would also like to develop pages with sub-headings, so if you have missed out on BC for a while, you can easily jump to a particular section that you are interested in, such as ‘Book Reviews’, ‘Music Reviews’ or ‘Bea’s Writing’.

This post has been by no means eloquent or ordered. I hope that – to a certain extent – future writing will be more coherent. I congratulate you if you have made it to the end.

Hopefully, I will see at least some of you within a month (hopefully in a fortnight). I love each and every one of you.

Tweet me @its_beacassidy

6 thoughts on “// I’m Not Dead // Bea Cassidy

  1. I’ve noticed you around for sure! I’ve come on your blog from time to time to poke my head in to see if you’ve snuck in an update.
    It’s so great to read a heartfelt post from you on your thought process and reasoning for taking your blog in an expanded direction! That’s great. Beauty is only just one part of us, there’s so much more. Who knows, maybe one days StashMatters might be more than just about beauty too, never say never!
    I think having a posting schedule is overrated… I don’t know who really circles on their calendar, omg it’s Monday, I need to check so-and-so’s blog! I post when I want, as frequently as I want. If I’m going go take a leave, i just leave a note up – no biggie.
    As for visuals, I say test out the waters and try out different things. Do you update your blog via your phone or a laptop? I like using a free software called Paint.NET for my laptop – all of my images are edited with that software and it’s FREE.
    http://www.getpaint.net/index.html
    If you’re not able to create your own original content for images, just use images you find online and simply credit the original source.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you Stashy – you are SUCH a gorgeous girl and are like a warm hug to all of your blogging buddies (and your ‘real friends’, too, I’m sure).
      Also, thanks for the graphics advice – goodness knows I need it.
      xx

      Like

  2. Welcome back, Bea! It is nice to read your post again and I am sure this time around we will learn to know more about your passions and things that really matter to you. I can totally relate with you about blogging and at times feel frustrated when I have posted a post that I was not completely happy about. But also, frustrated that I can not blog more than I used to, now that you know I have Hudson. He takes up the majority of my time, minus right now, I have a bit of time to myself while he is having his first nap for the day. Motherhood is very different, but very rewarding at the same time.

    Anyway, I think you have come a long way with everything that has happened in your life and your blog, yet still you set your goals high. Just remember, to study first, you are in your senior year of high school and if you do want to study in uni, that is something I think you need to focus on. I also studied Media Communications in uni and loved everything about it. Hence, where I found my passion for writing, it just made sense. Also, even if you do not blog regularly, just know your online friends are here to support you and will be here waiting patiently to read your next blog post.

    Have a great weekend and good luck with your open mic gig! 🙂 xx

    Caryl
    http://carylalmelor.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your continued support, Caryl. You are such a gentle soul and have been kind no matter what – or even IF – I post. School is definitely my number 1 priority right now, so BC REVAMPED is going to have to take a back seat. My goal is to still post once a month, but that is probably idealistic. We’ll chat soon, xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m looking forward to reading posts on Bea Cassidy revamped!
    I totally understand where you are coming from – I made a similar decision earlier this year. I was spending way too much on this I didn’t need just because I thought it would be cool to blog about it.

    Have fun and good luck with the Open Mic gig later this week.

    Cheers 🙂
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

// Have a chat! // xx

