// OCTOBER FAVOURITES ’15 // Bea Cassidy

Hello everyone!

My name is Bea and welcome back to the blog.

Today I am going to be telling YOU what I loved in the middle of Spring (in the Southern Hemisphere – you Northern peeps don’t worry that I’ve lost my marbles!).

Firstly, the razor has become a very good friend once more (as it does every Spring and Summer) and dresses are my go-to clothing item. Sunnies are a must, as well as a cute lip colour.

This month, it was undoubtedly my Innoxa Satin Sheen Lipstick in Peach Lily – as you know, I have very little left of it after failing to ‘stick it back together’. Not literally. Click here to find out what happened.

200794690_Colour_Peach Lily_fs_1
It looks more brown / red in the photo, but I can assure you that it is actually a pink / soft and warm coral.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It has the most beautiful, creamy, moisturising consistency and of the course, the colour is perfection. Need a few more reasons to buy this? It’s $14.95 (as an Australian, I consider it to be reasonably priced, but you Americans might think that for a drugstore lippie), cruelty-free, and Perth-based YouTuber Goo Roo Beauty recommends it.

You can buy it here.


I’ve just got to throw in another lip product favourite, because this has been on my lips consistently, throughout the latter two weeks of October. Now, I’m not going to insert a picture of the lip gloss itself, because the photo on the Designer Brands Cosmetics website looks like a mauvey nude – a colour which is not even in the same ball park as its true colour. However, the colour which it is closest to, is the Designer Brands Cosmetics Longwear Matte Lip Gloss in Forever, so I’ll insert a swatch of that one below.

designer-brands-db-cosmetics-matte-lip-gloss-longwear-forever-2

 

 

 

 

This – dare I say it, yes I do – holy grail beauty product that I’m raving about, but cannot find a true-to-life swatch of, is the Designer Brands Cosmetics Lavish Lip Gloss in Pink Rose – a mid-toned pink with mauve and raspberry undertones. It is the most pigmented lip gloss I have EVER used. It can be blotted down to a creme / stain look, or amp the Gloss Factor with a few coats. Also, it lasts for hours; at least 6 hours and while the colour slowly fades to a tint, the moisture stays on the lips, remaining soft and cushiony all day long – no top-up required.

It retails for $7.99 – a price for a lip product that is virtually unheard of in Australia. It is cruelty-free and vegan – for all you animal lovers out there – and I unabashedly fully profess my undying and unconditional love for this miracle lip product.

I purchased it several days before my No Buy began – on a whim, mind you (like most of my beauty purchases are) – and used it and thought it was okay and barely touched it again. I considered tossing it – I thank my lucky stars I didn’t!


Call me late to the party (16 years late, to be precise), but I only watched 10 Things I Hate About You for this first time during October.

giphy (4)

 

 

 

 

giphy (6)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#PleaseDontHit Me

I know I’m a pathetic excuse for a 16 year old. This movie is the Bible, the Koran – it is the truth. I thought I’d give it a whirl one Sunday afternoon and see what all the hype was about.

And have watched it twice more since then. Consider me a convert.


And finally, the book Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert has come back into my life. I stopped reading it a few months ago, as it was dragging and I had lost all interest in it. Until I picked it up again about two weeks ago and fell in love.

I can really relate to Liz’s search for happiness and her willingness to do anything in order to regain her sense of self. She discovers meditation in India and feeds her soul *cough* tummy *cough* with delectable Italian food. In Indonesia, she spends each day with a peculiar ‘Medicine Man’, who invites her to finally be at peace with herself and the world.


That’s all for my October Faves, but I’ll be back on Thursday with the first post in a new non-beauty-related segment.

xx

// Bea //

BCbeelogo

 

3 thoughts on “// OCTOBER FAVOURITES ’15 // Bea Cassidy

// Have a chat! // xx

