// BE CRUELTY-FREE // Bea Cassidy

Hello everyone!

I am Bea Cassidy and welcome back to the blog.

Today I will be discussing being cruelty-free – from my perspective. It’s a topic that is sensitive and has been known to cause a tiff or two. Please respect my opinion and I will respect yours. I don’t believe in being dogmatic; rather, I prefer to share my ideas and let my friends and readers ponder it, formulating their own opinion.

I cannot remember exactly when I made the decision to become cruelty-free. It might have been around the time that I got into makeup, circa October 2014. I did purchase some facial scrubs which were not cruelty-free, but I didn’t know that until I looked into cosmetics being tested on animals. Around January or February of this year, I decided to become cruelty-free, with my makeup, skincare and fragrances.

I watched several videos about animal testing and they really gutted and upset me, to say the least. Really, they infuriated me and forced me to really consider the worth of makeup, what it really is and the standards of makeup, as well as the simple rights of animals. I then searched for cruelty-free bloggers and YouTubers, as I knew I wasn’t alone in using only cruelty-free products and wanted to see if they had any tips on being cruelty-free, favourite brands and so on.


 

At first, I was cruelty-free at one of the lowest standards – buying products that may or may not be vegan and while the independent company may be cruelty-free, their parent company may not be. Only one of my cosmetics comes under this category, my Madagascan Vanilla Flower perfume from The Body Shop. While The Body Shop itself does not test on animals, its parent company L’Oréal, does.

About 2 months ago, after being cruelty-free for a solid 6 months, I made the decision to up the anti on my cruelty-free journey – to raise the bar. I have made the choice to only purchase cosmetics that are entirely cruelty-free; in addition, the company and ownership (parent company) must be cruelty-free. When my Vanilla perfume runs out, I won’t be repurchasing and that’s a shame, because it really is the most amazing scent, but I personally value the safety and happiness of animals higher than smelling nice.


 

That brings me to my next point – why the bloody hell are we okay with buying cosmetics that have tortured and killed millions of animals? Mice, rats, bunnies … all for things that we slap on our face. Where is the justice? Where is the humanity? That lipstick is pretty, but God knows how many rabbits have had to endure fatal chemicals being dropped in their eyes, or tested on their fur, to see if it is a true red shade? Or if it actually is matte?

As Jade Madden said in one of the first editions of The Hive, ‘ignorance is bliss’. I couldn’t agree more, but are you truly happy going along with whatever? If you’re not interested in going cruelty-free, I encourage you to at least educate yourself, and if you’re still 100% content with buying cosmetics that have been tested on animals, then you do you.

What bugs me is when people say, ‘It’s not our fault. Don’t blame us. It’s the companies!’ We are the money-makers for the companies. When we go out and buy a Revlon lipstick, we are giving them money – which goes straight to the lab, towards more chemicals and other crap to test on poor, innocent, defenceless animals! You vote with your money. When you buy a Rimmel mascara, you are objectively saying that you support animal testing!

We keep these companies going. It’s our money that’s paying for them to do God-knows-what to animals. Don’t be a nob and blame someone else. At least have the balls to own up to it. Have the guts to say that you prefer thinking about how good MAC’s ‘Velvet Teddy’ looks on you, rather than watching videos like this!

WANT TO SEE WHAT IT WOULD BE LIKE FOR A HUMAN, GOING THROUGH THE SAME TESTS?


Anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE YouTube. I love it for its variety and easy accessibility. I listen to music, watch vlogs, advice videos, makeup tutorials and blogging stuff. Here are some of my favourite cruelty-free YouTubers.

BeautyTalkWithCin

Channon Rose

Christina Kobzeff

derpinaMODE

Hannahyep

Jade Madden

Tashina Combs


I’m sorry this post was such a downer, but it’s something that I am extremely passionate about. This post will put off some and  some will unsubscribe. That’s okay. I understand and want you to only read and follow blogs that you like and enjoy reading.

It’s just that I believe in sharing my opinion and being (brutally) honest. I get that that will challenge and upset people. Regardless of whether you like or dislike this post, keep reading BC or not, I thank each and every one of you for supporting me and being great friends.

xx

Bea

BCbeelogo

3 thoughts on “// BE CRUELTY-FREE // Bea Cassidy

  1. Wow, thank you so much for the YouTube links, in particular! I am ashamed to admit that I had a moments of weakness some time ago, but now I’m going to try harder to keep cruelty free! I’ve been finding some nice-looking alternatives on Etsy that are cruelty free (some of them are vegan as well), and I’ll be trying them out once I have the $$.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Any action to be cruelty-free – be it big or small – is a step in the right direction.
      Let me know if you find some great / Holy Grail cruelty-free / vegan beauty bits on Etsy – perhaps you could do a post?
      xx
      // Bea //

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been meaning to check out Etherealle for ages, and I’ve got a sample perfume from For Strange Women on the way.

        I actually have a heap of things I’ve been meaning to review but I just can’t bring myself to do it x_x

        Liked by 1 person

// Have a chat! // xx

