No Buy 2 MONTH UPDATE: 44 Days To Go & MONTHLY NO MAKEUP? // Bea Cassidy

Hello everyone and welcome back to the blog!

Eek – I am now over halfway into my No Buy, due to finish on November 18th (coincidentally, November 18th is exactly one month away from my birthday).

I have to admit, I keep thinking, “Has it only been 2 months of No Buy? It feels like it’s been so much longer.” However, I think that’s because I haven’t bought cosmetics for 2 months, whereas when I was working part-time at a local café, I was purchasing new makeup about once every couple of weeks.

I hate to think how much I spent on makeup – particularly just in one trip.

NOTHING TO SEE HERE, PEOPLE, NOTHING TO SEE!

But before I get on to my 2 Month Update, I have something to share with you guys. I have really been thinking about the worth of makeup recently and how it makes us feel, so … for one week, I will not be wearing ANY makeup. No BB cream / tinted moisturiser, eyeshadow, eyebrow gel, mascara, blush, lipstick, lipgloss … NADA. What I can wear is an untinted lipbalm (hello Papaw Cream!), a plain moisturiser and suncream if I feel the urge (most suncreams give me dry and flakey patches on my face). I can also use my eyelash / eyebrow brush to comb through my brows, but any other prodzzzz are strictly prohibited.

I tried to get my sister in on the challenge, but she wasn’t interested, so it’ll just be me! I am considering making it a monthly thing – that’s right, I would go makeup-free for one week every month.

If this has inspired anyone, tweet me a pic of your gorgeously bare makeup-free face (my Twitter handle is @its_beacassidy) and #beamakeupfree

** P.S. My makeup-free week begins on Monday 12th October and ends on Friday 16th October – it would go for the full 7 days, but I’m spending the weekend in Sydney with some friends for a 16th birthday. We’ll be doing some things, so I’d like to wear some lippie or whatever. Hope you understand / don’t think of me as a cheat. **

BEAMAKEUPFREE

Lots of love to all my beaYOUtiful readers.


1. How do you feel when you go to put on makeup?

I really look forward to selecting products and take great pride and enjoyment the application process. I feel calm and zen and content, I used to feel so overwhelmed by the prospect of selecting what lipstick or eyeshadow to use. (I must admit that choosing has  been simplified by a little makeup collection declutter).

I feel far less stressed and if I had to close my eyes and pick out the makeup products to use for the day, I would be happy with whatever I selected, because I’ve kept only my faves.

2. How many empties have you accumulated over the last 2 weeks? (skincare, fragrance and makeup)

A big, fat, whopping …

ZERO.

3. Which products do you expect to finish by the end of No Buy?

After accidentally snapping (*frown-y face*) and then developing a serious handicap when I tried to secure it back in the tube, there is very little left of my Peach Lily lipstick (*sad face*). Also, I lost my Australis lipstick in Ballet whilst on the train from Melbourne back home, so there is no hope of me finishing that.

Obviously.

4. List your fortnightly faves. 

  1. Mascara? Innoxa Lash Define Mascara in Brown Black =  it’s the only one I own and is my favourite mascara ever.
  2. Eyeshadow / eyeshadow palette? Innoxa Eyeshadow Palette in Daytime Neutrals, BUT I ended up just depotting / scraping out the darkest shade (refer to last update to see why). 
  3. Base product? Natio Tinted Moisturiser SPF 20 in Neutral
  4. Moisturiser? Sukin Sensitive Facial Moisturiser
  5. Lipstick? Innoxa Satin Sheen Lipstick in Peach Lily
  6. Lip Gloss? Innoxa Antioxidant Lip Glaze in Guava = as it’s now Spring, I have been using this lip gloss a CRAP TONNE and have only about a third of it left. I use it on my lips (surprise, surprise), but I ALSO use it as a highlighter / illuminator on my cheeks (or on my entire face – I apply a few ‘drops’ to my tinted moisturiser and blend for an allover glow). It looks dewy and natural on the skin and is beautiful.
  7. Fragrance? The Body Shop Madagascan Vanilla Flower Eau de Toilette (50mL)

5. What are the positives and negatives of your No Buy thus far?

Positives: SAVING MONEY (don’t be fooled though, I have none after my week in Melbourne and I lost my handbag on the train home). Also, having a manageable collection and not getting panic attacks from the thought of choosing a lipstick. (With just 4 lippies, it’s rarely a challenge).

Negatives: I don’t have any. I’ve learned that I can still get a similar effect from swatching or watching hauls or tutorials on YouTube, without having to splash out on products.

6. Did you trash / pass on anything over these last 2 weeks?

Yes.

I finally stopped moaning and groaning about whether or not to keep my Designer Brands Longwear Lipstick in Lilac Mist and got rid of it. (See last update for why). I also tossed my Natio Mineral Eyeshadow Trio in Bronzed. I never reached for this, as I found that a) the colours weren’t very pigmented; b) looked muddy when applied; and c) I used my Innoxa palette nine times out of 10. However, what was good about the Natio trio was that the eyeshadows were baked, and I only learnt a few days ago that baked shadows can be used wet or dry. Excited, I tried this and found the shadows were so much more pigmented. The lightest shade in particular, mimicked the appearance of foiled shadows (e.g.the Australis Metallix / AC-ME Eyeshadow in Gold Gaga), but the shadow then began to peel and “ball up”. Disappointed and frustrated, I trashed the trio.

I have added a seventh question to my No Buy Updates because I am a stickybeak and love to know what products people are interested in purchasing. 

7. What’s on your wish list?

FACE:

 Innoxa Silk Skin Primer: AUD $24.95

Lovea Organic Sunscreen SPF 50 Daily Face Cream (50mL): GBP £17.99

EYES: 

Too Faced Natural Eyes Palette: AUD $53.00

Anastasia Beverly Hills Shadow Couture World Traveller Palette: US $30.00 *LIMITED EDITION*

LIPS:

SAVVY Lipstick in MauiBlushing Pink or Guava: AUD $4.99 – $6.99 *Can’t remember which one I loved in Priceline*

Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution Lipstick in Love Liberty: AUD $48.00

Designer Brands Cosmetics Longwear Matte Lip Gloss in Stayput or Forever: AUD $9.99 *Can’t remember which one I loved in the drugstore*

xx

// Bea //

6 thoughts on “No Buy 2 MONTH UPDATE: 44 Days To Go & MONTHLY NO MAKEUP? // Bea Cassidy

  1. Interesting challenge for yourself to go without makeup – how’s it going so far?
    Oh I’d be upset too if I broke my lipstick too… and losing / misplacing things is one of my worst petpeeves! Losing a handbag… I canNOT even imagine…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi SM,
      Today is my last day of my makeup-free week for October. It’s gone very well, thank you – my skin has a break and I actually feel more confident. The one downside is looking like a greaseball at the end of each day, thanks to SPF50 suncream, rather than the SPF20 in my tinted moisturiser.
      I am a bit nervous, because I have a 2 hour train trip on Saturday and am a bit worried that I’ll lose another bag … :/
      Anyway, we’ll see.
      xx
      // Bea //
      P.S. I have a post coming soon, on how my makeup-free week went.

      Liked by 1 person

// Have a chat! // xx

