// BEA Minimalist: Drawers and Wardrobe Declutter // Bea Cassidy

Hi. My name is Bea and I am addicted to clothes.

(Hi Bea).

Over the last few years, my collection had gotten out of control and was a complete mess, eye-sore and utter nightmare.

(Nods of agreement).

In all seriousness, though, I had a ridiculous number of clothes and yet I found myself often saying, “I have nothing to wear” or “I can’t find …”.

I was sick of this and after watching several declutter videos, I decided to face the monster that is my own collection and take. it. down.

I also decided to photograph each step of the process.

So … what am I waiting for? Encouragement? Judgment?

If you’re going to hate, please leave now.

If you’re going to be accepting and loving, grab a cup of tea, a piece of cake and sit yo’ ass down.


Here are some photos of my drawers, in which I keep most of my clothing, including my underwear, pyjamas, socks, swimmers / cozzies / toggs, skirts, tees, jeans, pants, sweaters.

Two words.

DEAR. GOD. 

Bras and undies ...
Bras and undies …

 

 

 

 

 

 

More bras and undies ...
More bras and undies …

 

 

 

 

 

 

And - you guessed it - even MORE bras and undies ...
And – you guessed it –
even MORE bras and undies …

 

 

 

 

 

 

Socks, stockings / tights, swimmers, pyjamas ...
Socks, stockings / tights, swimmers, pyjamas …

 

 

 

 

 

 

Closeup of some PJs and swimmers ...
Closeup of some PJs and swimmers …

 

 

 

 

 

 

More swimmers and PJs ...
More swimmers and PJs …

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sock mayhem ...
Sock mayhem …

 

 

 

 

 

 

It's a sock jumble ...
It’s a sock jumble …



 

 

 

 


 

Let’s start with the mountain of underwear, socks, PJs and swimmers that await us.

// We'll deal with this now //
// We’ll deal with this now //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Undies and singlets and bras - oh my! //
// Undies and singlets and bras – oh my! //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// My bra collection (except for the one I was wearing) //
// My bra collection (except for the one I was wearing) //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 8

Decluttered to = … 5

// My bra collection NOW //
// My bra collection NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Singlets and slips //
// Singlets and slips //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 13

Decluttered to = … 6

// Singlets and slips NOW //
// Singlets and slips NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Underpants //
// Underpants //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 23

Decluttered to = … 9

// My underpants now //
// My underpants now //

 

 

 

 

 

 

School socks ...
// School socks //

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept all 5 pairs of my school socks.

// Casual socks //
// Casual socks //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 6

Decluttered to = … 4

// Casual socks NOW //
// Casual socks NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Stockings //
// Stockings //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 6

Decluttered to = … 4

// Stockings NOW //
// Stockings NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Pyjama sets //
// Winter Pyjama sets //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 3

Decluttered to = … 2

// Summer pyjama sets //
// Summer pyjama sets //

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept my one pair of summer pyjamas.

// Summer pyjama separates //
// Summer pyjama separates //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 4

Decluttered to = … 1

// Summer pyjama separates NOW //
// Summer pyjama separates NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Nighties //
// Nighties //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 3

Decluttered to = … 2

// Nighties NOW //
// Nighties NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// One-piece swimmers //
// One-piece swimmers //

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got rid of my swimsuit.

// Bikini set //
// Bikini set //

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept my one bikini set.

// Bikini separates //
// Bikini separates //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 5

Decluttered to = … 3

// Bikini separates NOW //
// Bikini separates NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// My underwear drawer NOW //
// My underwear drawer NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// My socks, stockings, swimmers and pyjama drawer NOW //
// My socks, stockings, swimmers and pyjama drawer NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 


Let’s crack the tee, blouse, skirt, short and playsuit enigma. 

"You mean I can't sleep on this, Aunty Bea?"
“You mean I can’t sleep on this, Aunty Bea?”

 

 

 

 

 

 

#icanteven ...
#icanteven …

 

 

 

 

 

 

I spy ... skirts, shorts, tees ...
I spy … skirts, shorts, tees …

 

 

 

 

 

 

Keep scrolling ...
Keep scrolling …

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mount of Skort
Mount of Skort

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Casual tees //
// Casual tees //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 5

Decluttered to = … 1

// Casual tees NOW //
// Casual tees NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Sport tees NOW //
// Sport tees NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 6

Decluttered to … 3

// Blouses //
// Bralettes & Strapless shirts  //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 3

Decluttered to = … 1

// Blouses NOW //
// Bralettes & Strapless shirts NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Blouses / Tank tops //
// Blouses & Tank tops //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 12

Decluttered to = … 6

// Blouses & Tank tops NOW //
// Blouses & Tank tops NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Shorts //
// Shorts //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 4

Decluttered to … 3

// Shorts NOW //
// Shorts NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Skirts //
// Skirts //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 9

Decluttered to = … 6

// Skirts NOW //
// Skirts NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Playsuits //
// Playsuits //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 3

Decluttered to = … 1

// My tee, skirts, shorts and playsuit drawer NOW //
// My tee, skirts, shorts and playsuit drawer NOW //

 

 

 

 

 


Let’s move on to long-sleeves and pants.

This drawer is the worst ...
This drawer is the worst …

 

 

 

 

 

 

Keep going ...
Keep going …

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am ashamed ...
I am ashamed …

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comment ...
No comment …

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Long-sleeved tees //
// Long-sleeved tees //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 9

Decluttered to = … 6

// Long-sleeved tees NOW //
// Long-sleeved tees NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Woollen sweaters //
// Woollen sweaters //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 5

Decluttered to = … 2

// Woollen sweaters NOW //
// Woollen sweaters NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Cardigans, blazers & kimonos //
// Cardigans, blazers & kimonos //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 8

Decluttered to = 5

// Cardigans, blazers & kimonos NOW //
// Cardigans, blazers & kimonos NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Sports hoodie //
// Sports hoodie //

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept my one sports hoodie.

// Jeans //
// Jeans //

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept my two pairs of jeans – I do not need to justify that.

// Pants //
// Pants //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 8

Decluttered to = … 2

// Pants NOW //
// Pants NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Tracksuit pants //
// Tracksuit pants //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 3

Decluttered to: … 2 (I was wearing the other tracksuit pants that I kept, when I took this photo).

// Tracksuit pants NOW //
// Tracksuit pants NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// My long-sleeves and pants drawer NOW //
// My long-sleeves and pants drawer NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Closeup //
// Closeup //

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Get ready, dresses and pantsuits – your time is NOW.

// Dresses, coats, work attire, scarves & shoes //
// Dresses, coats, work attire, scarves & shoes //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Sundresses //
// Sundresses //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 20

Decluttered to = … 7

// Closeup //
// Closeup //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Winter dresses //
// Winter dresses //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 2

I kept both of my winter dresses.

// Cardigans, blazers & kimonos hanging up //
// Cardigans, blazers & kimonos hanging up //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Closeup //
// Closeup //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Blouses & tank tops hanging up //
// Blouses & tank tops hanging up //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Closeup //
// Closeup //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Little Black Dresses //
// Little Black Dresses //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 6

Decluttered to = … 2

// Little Black Dresses NOW //
// Little Black Dresses NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Pantsuit //
// Pantsuit //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Work shirts //
// Work shirts //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 2

I kept both of my work shirts (one is missing from the photo).

// Work skirts //
// Work skirts //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 3

Decluttered to: … 1

// Work skirts NOW //
// Work skirts NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Work pants //
// Work pants //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept my one pair of work pants.

// Coats and vests //
// Coats and vests //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 5

Decluttered to = … 4

// Coats and vests NOW //
// Coats and vests NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Second-last category: SCARVES.

// Scarves //
// Scarves //

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Closeup //
// Closeup //

 

 

 

 

 

 

Total = 14

Decluttered to = … 9

// Scarves NOW //
// Scarves NOW //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Flamenco clothing.

 

// Flamenco dress //
// Flamenco dress //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept my one flamenco dress.

// Flamenco skirts //
// Flamenco skirts //

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kept both of my flamenco skirts.


 

Prior to declutter, I had 218 pieces of clothing (excluding handbags, shoes and jewellery).

Post-declutter, I had 115 pieces of clothing.

I cut my collection down by 52.75% !!!!!


 

What should I declutter next?

Let me know below.

xx

Bea

6 thoughts on “// BEA Minimalist: Drawers and Wardrobe Declutter // Bea Cassidy

    1. Hi Jess,
      I honestly can’t put into words the relief I feel at having a major declutter and purge. YES – it’s a lengthy process (set aside 1 day for this), but OH MY GOD, it’s worth it.
      I only have the things I love and wear regularly.
      I really recommend it – why not share your journey when you do manage to do it?
      xx
      // Bea //

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Bea!
        I think if I can bring myself to do it, I definitely will. I have a few things that are holding me back from doing it, and I’m not sure what to do about it! If I ever break past these things, I’ll definitely be writing about it.

        Liked by 1 person

// Have a chat! // xx

