The No Buy / Lo Buy Tag!

The idea to create this Tag came out of a discussion with StyledWithJoy in the comments section of one of my posts a couple of weeks ago. We’re both on a No Buy for 2015, and we decided we needed a place to commiserate. If you’re on a No Buy or Lo Buy, please join us in answering these co-authored Tag questions – it’s cathartic!     StashMatters

(above quote taken from StyledWithJoy – thanks hunni!)

Firstly, let’s get something straight. I am currently on a makeup NO BUY, NOT a LO BUY. That’s right – I am not going to be purchasing ANY makeup until the end of my 100 Day No Buy Challenge.

1. When did you start your No Buy / Lo Buy? (and) How long is your No Buy / Lo Buy going to last?

The first day of my No Buy was 10th August 2015, one day before Mummy’s birthday. As stated above, my No Buy is 100 days in duration and ends on November 18th 2015, one month before my (semi-sweet) 16th birthday.

2. Why did you decide to go on a No Buy / Lo Buy? 

Whilst Mum and friends have commented on the size of my makeup collection for a while, with the number of lipsticks I own steadily growing (now sitting at 9, with one more being a liquid lipstick, so I suppose that’s ten) and being the main criminal in the firing line, it ultimately came down to me either having no money after buying makeup or using the little money I had (I no longer have a part-time job) to purchase more makeup. I was sick of having no money and would really stress in the lead up to an event or birthday, where I’d have to have money to buy a present, for example. The Sister is always loaded, though part of the reason might be that her ‘puppy-dog eyes’ effortlessly con people into buying things for her, thereby not having to say ‘sayonara’ to her cash. Maybe I’m partially doing the No Buy out of jealousy of my younger sister, but I know that I’m primarily doing it for me – to save money and see if and how my mindset changes during this adrenaline-rush-from-buying-new-makeup drought. In my last post, I go into more detail about why I’m going on a No Buy, so click here (add link to last blog post) and have a read.

3. Have you ever attempted a No Buy / Lo Buy before? (If so) How did it go?

About 3 months ago, I made an undoubtedly poor effort to cease my perpetual spending on makeup, but less than three weeks later, the beautiful displays at Priceline won me over and I succumbed and forked out even more money for things I didn’t need, some of which I have even thrown out, because they’re just ‘not me’/crappy products/blah blah blah. So I guess it’s safe to say that my last No Buy attempt was pretty shitty.

4. What do you hope to achieve with your No Buy / Lo Buy?

I hope to save some money and see how I feel within myself, without contributing to drugstores’ quotas. Also, I really want to find out what my fave products are in my stash – that is, which ones I’d love to repurchase – and which ones I’m just like, ‘Why, for the love of God, did I waste my money on this?!’

5. What product(s) have you hit pan on since starting the Makeup No Buy?

I have come to the end of my Antipodes Kiwi Seed Oil Eye Cream (which is absolutely gorgeous, but pricey – I highly recommend it, but get it at Priceline’s 40% Off All Skincare Sale) and my Sukin Sensitive Calming Night Cream which, if you’re interested, is less than half the price of the Antipodes Eye Cream and you get 4 times the amount of product. I have loved both of these, but I will use my beloved Sukin Sensitive Facial Moisturiser (I’m on my third bottle of the stuff and it’s a steal at $10!) day and night, at least until the end of my No Buy.

Antipodes Kiwi Seed Oil Cream 30mL: AUD RRP $48.99

Sukin Sensitive Calming Night Cream 120mL: AUD RRP $19.95

6. Do you have more empties because of it? (and) What product do you miss the most?

It’s really too early to say, but I am thinking that on some scientifical (yes, I am aware that ‘scientifical’ is not a real word) and mathematical level, I will have more empties. I am 98% sure that I will have finished my Australis lipstick in ‘Ballet’ before the end of the No Buy and I will be devastated and replace that when I am permitted to. It’s just such a simple, foolproof, flattering pink colour and is my go-to when in doubt of what colour to swipe across my lips. It’s also the perfect colour for school. It’s subtle, creamy and very comfortable to wear.

7. Do you think you can survive the ban from makeup?

It really is very early to say whether I am able to ‘survive’ the purchasing of new makeup ban, but I am already feeling less drawn to entering drugstores and department stores, where makeup illuminates the shelves, like a glaring beacon for little Bea Cassidy, eager to find that lipstick that Sally Jo talked about, or that Essence ‘In The Nude’ lipliner that JerushaCouture is so obsessed with. I also find that I’m less keen on surfing the web, stalking products and their respective reviews, perhaps in a futile attempt to justify yet another purchase. Of course, I do like to watch beauty-related YouTube videos – I find them cathartic and act as a type of therapy as I toddle through my 100 Day Makeup Ban.

8. What product(s) do you envy right now, but can’t get? (The original question is ‘What is the one product you envy right now, but can’t get? For eyes? For lips? And for face?)

I am looking at a few shades of the Australis Go Long lippies, the Chi Chi lipsticks and a few Charlotte Tilbury lipsticks.

9. Have you cheated and bought something already?

Nope. I’ve stayed strong. As the group members of Shopaholics Anonymous in the funny, relatable film ‘Confessions Of A Shopaholic’ chant, as if they are trying to convince themselves of the fact that it’s good not to spend money, or at least, to spend less, “My will is strong. My wallet is closed. I do not want to shop.”

Courtesy of https://behappy.me -- https://behappy.me/tote/my-will-is-strong-my-wallet-closed-i-do-not-want-to-shop-187638
Courtesy of https://behappy.me

https://behappy.me/tote/my-will-is-strong-my-wallet-closed-i-do-not-want-to-shop-187638

 

 

10. After your No Buy / Lo Buy, are you planning a big haul? (If so) What are you going to buy?

I have a few products on my To Haul list (but no where NEAR as much stuff as was on a wish list in one of my more recent blog posts) and one or two things that I would love to receive as prezzies, hint hint friends and family of moi. To purchase myself, I would love the Innoxa Silk Skin Primer (AUD $24.95). Aussie beauty YouTuber Jodi, from GooRoo Beauty, has raved about it and it’s always out of stock at Priceline. I’m hoping that it will keep my face from looking slightly greased at the end of the day and that it will help my Natio BB Cream buff more easily into my skin, without getting all bitty, if you know what I’m saying. I’d lurve the Inika Mineral Blusher in ‘Pink Pinch’. It’s a mauvey-rosey shade and I only have one blush (Natio Blusher in ‘Peach Glow’), so I feel entitled to another one. I’m also looking at the USD $7 BH Cosmetics Enhancing Eyes: Gorgeous Green Eyes Palette, because it’s cheap, has some neutral shades and the coloured shadows it does have will not cause car crashes, ala the Urban Decay Electric Palette. It’s safe to say that I have fallen out of love with my Australis Colour Inject Moisturising Mineral Lipstick in ‘Salsa’, so I’m looking at replacing with a more wearable coral, such as tge Chi Chi Viva La Diva Lipstick in ‘Blonde Ambition’ (available at Target for AUD $18.95), the Ofra Liquid Lipstick in ‘Rio’, or, if I, or a family member, REALLY wants to spoil me, I’d love to own the Too Faced La Creme Colour Drenched Lip Cream in ‘Juicy Melons’ for a pricey AUD $29. However, I’m not sure on this one, because it looks equally, if not more vibrant, than ‘Salsa’. I’m hoping that I’ll receive the Ovonni Makeup Brush Kit Set of 29 for AUD $58.99, as I only have one proper makeup brush and that’s my Natio Kabuki Brush. I was looking at a set from Furless Cosmetics, but the Ovonni Set has a much bigger set of brushes and is not much more expensive. I’d also like a lipstick holder, because if I ever shut my makeup drawer a bit firmly, all of my lippies fall over. Soldiers down! Soldiers down!

I’m not going to tag anyone in particular, but if you’re on a Makeup No Buy / Lo Buy, from StashMatters and StyledWithJoy and myself, we challenge you to do this tag!

Check out StashMatters’ answers to the Tag she co-created!

Check out StyledWithJoy’s answers to the Tag she co-created!

xx

Bea

P.S. Comment down below if you’d like to see my makeup drawer and collection tour.

P.P.S. How do I change the message above the Comments section? #suchaWPjunkie

 

6 thoughts on “The No Buy / Lo Buy Tag!

// Have a chat! // xx

