SKINNYDIPPING

I briskly stride towards an imposing cliff, overhanging this end of the beach. I unzip my blue Lorna Jane Studio ’89 hoodie and toss it onto a large rock. I hastily unwrap my sarong and feel the breeze kiss my skin. The water entices and calls me.  I dash towards the indigo floating carpet, abandoning all my inhibitions behind me.

The waves lap at my legs and I grin – with happiness, excitement and liberty. I wade further and further out, an insignificant obstacle in the path of the moon and gravity.

A wave looms over me and I dive underneath. My whole being is exposed. All my senses are activated and I feel free – freer than I’ve ever felt. I giggle as I surface, trawling my hands through my hair and dragging it from across my face.

My flesh is strangely illuminated in the twilight. My waist glimmers and the light dances across my chest.

I float on my back, gliding over the water. It embraces me, without constricting me. It’s like a hug from my mum – warm and reassuring.

The water cleanses me spiritually and physically. I feel incredibly refreshed and carefree. My stress is being absorbed by the water and my mind is clear. I’m content with myself – my body, my mind, my conscience and I forgive myself.

I want to stay here forever – free from all 21st century, first-world problems. I wouldn’t have to worry about my hair, my body, my diet, bitchy girls, ‘player’ boys, relationships, sex or any of the other topics that are omnipresent in a teenager’s daily life.

The ocean has made things so clear. It’s like looking through a freshly-cleaned window and seeing the world as it is, with the good and the bad. Skinnydipping has opened my eyes.

Now it’s up to you.

Have you ever skinnydipped? How did you feel? Did you enjoy it? Were you by yourself?

Leave a comment below.

 

 

6 thoughts on “SKINNYDIPPING

  1. DEFINITELY!
    My heart is greatly warmed when I see that you’ve liked all my posts. It gives me a boost of confidence and reminds that I am an OK writer.
    As for you … keep writing girl! Your blog is awesome – when did you start?
    Love Bea xx

    Like

    1. Hi Diana!
      Thank you for your comment.
      Now, as much as I hate the saying (it tends to do more bad than good), I’m going to say it – YOLO! Go and skiinnydip – it truly is an amazing experience and is an awakening.
      Much love,
      Bea xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, Bea! I have not skinny-dipped before. Is it on my to-do-list? Probably, but I have never dared myself to go out and try it. I’m probably too self-conscious to share that part of me to the wilderness even if I go alone or with friends. Maybe one day, who knows! 🙂 x
    Caryl – http://carylalmelor.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Caryl!
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment. xx
      I highly recommend skinnydipping and it’s definitely on your to-do list – there is no excuse for not doing it, whether you consider your body to be the best thing since sliced bread, or the most shameful thing in the world. I don’t love my body, but by skinnydipping, I’m slowly beginning to love and accept it.
      I recommend skinnydipping by yourself, as it’s one of the most liberating experiences that you will ever have.
      😀 xx
      Bea

      Liked by 1 person

// Have a chat! // xx

