2015: New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve never been more eager for a new year.

God. In the last few days of 2014, I was practically counting down the hours until 2015 arrived. I won’t bore you with my moaning and groaning about the various shitty things that happened. Don’t get me wrong – great things also happened – but when I look back at 2014, the year seems to be obscured by the poop emoji.

 

 

 

I’ve got a feeling that 2015 is going to be a fabulous year and, in the hope that I can do some things to help guarantee it, I’ve come up with some of my own New Year’s resolutions.

Before you roll your eyes and make a quick (but dumb, close-minded) escape to a “cool” blog like Who’s That Girl? or Emily Jane, hear me out.

As a general rule, I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. They can be really tacky and unrealistic and 97% of the resolutions are suspiciously forgotten about 75 hours after they were announced.

However, some resolutions are achievable and practical, (however, they still aren’t dirt easy), and I have acted upon for a decent amount of time, (whether or not I kept them for the entire year – that’s another matter).

So … Here are my New Year’s Resolutions for 2015.

1. Begin doing gigs and busking locally.

This is my seventh year of playing guitar and over the last three or four years, I have sung and played guitar. I play for family and friends, but I get nervous about performing in front of a crowd. So … I have decided that this is the year. The only way to conquer your fear is to face it.

2. Visit my step-grandma once a week.

Recently, my grandad passed away and now my step-grandma is alone in her quaint little cottage. Well, she’s not alone, if you count the two half-feral cats, Sooty and Tiger. I want her to know that even though I’m not connected to her by blood, she means so much to me and I love her to death.

3. Visit my nan and pop once a week.

Since my grandad died, I have thought long and hard about life and death. (Morbid, aren’t I?) My nan is 81 and my pop is 84 and has midstage dementia. You never know what is around the corner, so I want to spend as much time with him (especially).

4. Get fit.

I’m not overweight, or underweight, but I just feel weak. I used to be strong and have a six-pack. I used to feel really good about my body. I loved it. I still think it’s great, but I feel a bit more ‘meh’ about it now. I felt great when I ran every day and went to yoga/pilates with my mum. I want to get back to that and be able to be much more confident about my body. Well, let’s be honest, a Seafolly bikini is gorgeous, but it’s loving yourself for who you are – inside and out – that really makes it look amazing.

giphy (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

giphy (1)

 

 

 

 

 

giphy (2)

 

 

 

 

 

5. Post once a day (minimum: or once every two days).

I get frustrated with myself and other bloggers – especially full-time ones – who post haphazardly and randomly. I love a blogger who posts regularly, on set days. Of course, if all they write is shite, then I wouldn’t complain if they post something in January, then in March, then in August, then in September, then in October and then in the following June. Obviously, if what they write is rubbish, then I wouldn’t even bother keeping up with their blog. That brings me to my next point. (Oh dear, I just sounded like that boring-ass high school English teacher you had that smelt of mothballs mixed with some cheap and nasty Avon perfume). I feel that Lizzy Caplan (aka Janis Ian, in Mean Girls) sums it up perfectly.

giphy (1)

 

 

 

 

 

You do have to work out the balance between quality and quantity. If I’m pushed for time and I only have a crummy idea for a post, then I will wait until the following day, or when I am inspired or get a good idea from somewhere. My goal is to post fantastic stuff, fantastically regularly.

Happy New Year! Let’s hope it’s a good one.

One thought on “2015: New Year’s Resolutions

// Have a chat! // xx

